Our Early Years Curriculum

As a child enters our Reception Year at Stanford School, he/she will work within the Areas of Learning.  These areas are part of the Early Years Foundation Stage that guides children from birth to 5 years of age.

The areas of learning and development in the Early Years.

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years’ settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. The prime areas are:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.

Our EYFS activities and experiences for children include the following:

Please follow this link to view the Early Years Curriculum.

Development Matters

EYFS Framework

If you would like any additional information about the Early Years Curriculum, please speak to your child's class teacher.